It’s my padlet and I’ll glee if I want to.

 

 

Laura's Padlet

 

Do you see that teeny tiny picture above this text? Of course you do (Or I really hope you do, or I’ve done something wrong)! Do me a favour and give that teeny tiny picture a click to take you to the full-size, real-deal posting of my padlet wall that I’ve created all about myself.

Now that you’re there, I’m sure some of you might be thinking, “Wow, Laura. Does Glee really deserve half the space in a pictorial description of your entire life?”. Well, my response for you is yes. Yes it does. That weekend ruled and I’m still not over it. This is my padlet and I’ll glee  if I want to

That’s kind of the beauty of this program. You can use it for nearly any content, and it’s still going to look great and get your point across to your viewer. Students could make a padlet for any subject and customize it to suit their needs. To me it’s like “Posterboard 2.0”. You still get the great representation of ideas like a posterboard has, but it has more options for media (like videos!), less waste of materials (think of all the savings on printer paper and ink!), it’s much easier to take home and mark, and it will be around forever (rather than getting tossed into the dumpster as soon as it’s been returned).

It also makes you condense your ideas, as it’s obvious that the text is meant to be used more as a caption than a long story space. It think this is such an important skill for kids to learn, especially in our age of technology where a tweet can be more powerful than a 10 page essay.

I think I will begin using padlet in my classrooms in the future much in the same way I demonstrated it here. It’s a great way to get to know someone quickly, and can even be referred back to as the teacher learns their student’s names and preferences. This would be a great low stress introduction to the program, which would make using it for projects in the future an easy transition.

Or, you know, maybe I’ll just keep using it to display my love for glee. 😉

 

All the best,

Laura

3 comments

  1. Hey Laura,
    Thanks for sharing- I definitely feel as though I got to know you better! I like this idea for a introductory activity with an older grade, some hobbies or interests (like dance or glee) are never shared with classmates and this would be a great outlet to show these.

    1. For sure!

      The students would also be able to go back and look at what their classmates posted about themselves as they get to know each other too, which would work well for a high school setting where the students might not know each other.

Leave a comment