Beating the Block – A Collection of Thoughts

It’s been a struggle for me to be able to make a blog post that doesn’t come from a set criteria. For some reason I find myself unable or reluctant to just let myself put down my thoughts and share them with the internet world.

Even as I write this post I find myself constantly backspacing the words, feeling like there’s a better way to say what I want to here. I think a big part of this comes from a desire to show off my best side, like each post I make should be at my very best.

However, it’s important for me to break through that thought process and start getting things out there! Anything’s better (well, maybe not anything) than a blank blog.

So here’s hoping for a new start. I’m going to aim to post more, interact more with others, and start building up a real presence in our classroom online community. Goodbye backspace button, hello “publish post”s.

4 comments

  1. Wow…do I ever understand where you are coming from. I have the same issue…especially because we are always talking in class about how you need to be able to represent yourself in a positive way on the internet because it is out there for everyone to see. In many ways I still have issues with blogging because I like the idea of maintaining a certain amount of privacy and anonymity. It’s not that I don’t share anything with others, but more like, I like to know who I am sharing things with and when you put things on the internet you could be sharing with anyone and everyone. I guess in many ways that kind of scares me.

    1. It’s comforting to know that there’s others out there who feel the same way. I’m hoping those of us who are having some trouble getting completely into blogging can band together and find strength in numbers, I’m sure there’s more of us. Here’s to both of us “beating the block”!

  2. I also find it difficult to find time to find topics to post about. I’m definitely not a super blogger but will share my advice- I’ve learned it is easier for me to write shorter posts more frequently then one long post. Another thing I enjoy is highlighting resources I have found or reflecting on things I have done. Keep trying and thanks for sharing!

    1. That’s some excellent advice! My posts have been fairly long, more like assignments than they are blog posts. I’ll try to keep that in mind while I’m blogging.

      Thanks for your help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

